Thursday, October 5, 2023

Golf is not only our business, it is our life...

HomeFEATURED WEBSITEThings to know about the Claret Jug, awarded to the winner of...

Things to know about the Claret Jug, awarded to the winner of the British Open

The Champion Golfer of the Year, aka the winner of the British Open, earns a large sum of money, many accolades and the historic Claret Jug. OK, not the Claret Jug. We can explain.

There have been 150 Opens contested over the years but the trophy wasn’t yet created for the first nearly dozen tournaments.

And did you know that the Claret Jug has a lesser-known formal name of The Golf Champion Trophy?

Harry Vardon has the most Open Championship titles with six. Old Tom Morris is the oldest winner of the Open, doing so at age 46 years. The youngest champ was his son, Young Tom Morris, who was but 17 years old when he claimed the title.

British Open: Leaderboard, tee times, hole-by-hole

But what about the trophy? Here are some more interesting facts about the Claret Jug.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments